Oh hey, I’m blogging

This is my first post on a personal blog. Ever. (How am I doing so far?)

The only other blogging I’ve ever done was for The Ithacan‘s now-defunct Division III sports-focused blog, Hat Trick. Side note: I’m pretty sure no one, including myself, liked that name, but it’s lost to history now anyway. I digress.

For as long as I can remember — which, I suppose is about the first or second grade — I’ve loved writing. And from the time I could play them, I loved sports, too. Basketball, in particular, was my favorite sport, but once it became clear in the sixth grade that I wasn’t going to become an NBA player, I decided the best alternative was to combine sports and writing. And, largely, that’s what I’ve done. My writing has appeared on ESPN.com, D3football.com, Patch.com and a handful of daily newspapers in New York and Connecticut. I’ve also spent a large portion of my professional career as an editor.

Writing and editing go hand-in-hand, but I’ve always leaned toward writing. It was, after all, my first passion.

I don’t expect this blog to turn into a personal journal. Truthfully, I don’t have any clear expectations for it. Like most aspects of life, I’ll begin down a path and see where it takes me. I do expect most of the posts to be about sports because, hey, that’s what I love! But if you’ve read this far, you already knew that. But I won’t rule out an occasional culture post, or Star Wars post, or video games post, or … well, anything.

So check back and leave comments, good and bad. I’m always up for some banter. You can find me on my personal website, Twitter, or email me at andrewclovell@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

